Home

just a brief note here to acknowledge that i, like almost all music writers, really really hate coming up with top ten lists. they are the worst.

for creative loafing.

nocturne

I don’t know about you, but I am about as sick as I can be of this “nostalgia music” thing. How many albums emulating ’80s pop do we really need? I say only one. And that one is Wild Nothing’sNocturne. I don’t care what style you’d call Jack Tatum’s music, but it seems like everything he comes up with sounds good. A little synthy, a little shoegazey, this record is full of earworm hooks and lyrics that are simple without being simplistic. Maybe it’s not ground-breaking, but I bet you’ll still be spinning this record this time next year. I know I will.

2- Beach House – Bloom

3- Kishi Bashi – 151a

4- Shovels & Rope – O’ Be Joyful

5- TEEN – In Limbo

6- David Byrne & St. Vincent – Love This Giant

7- Ariel Pink – Mature Themes

8- Pearl & the Beard – Killing the Darlings

9- Kaki King – Glow

10- Dirty Projectors – Swing Lo Magellan

Leave a Reply

